Get your own
     diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry Secure access test results

2004-08-31 - 12:47 a.m.

08-30-04 12:43 p.m.

Oi. I was up until 5 a.m. so this is what you get: me sleeping until after noon. But, I have a feeling that after my meeting with Don Marshall tomorrow I won't be able to do that anymore which, oddly enough, I'm happy about. It's time for a change, it's time for me to have hours more like those of the living.

I only have a few hours now until my therapy session so I have to choose which things I most need to do and unfortunately that's prolly not visiting Bryan or Brandon. I need to get to the bank and stop at the courthouse and take care of the registration on my car I think? Toilet needs to be looked at again. I have no idea what's fucking wrong with it. I should have emailed Bean back by now too. I've got bills to get ready to go out, I need a new carton of smokes, I need a haircut, etc, etc. I needn't get too stressed about all this since almost all these things can easily be blown off.

**********************************************************************************************

11:01 p.m.

I got a call not long after the above paragraph to go and check out this intranet that they are trying to set up at my friend Dawna's place of employment. I think it might be over my head, at least since it needed to be up and running like last week. Heh. Networking is by far my weakest point of computer knowledge and since this is for doctors to access patient files via a secure internet, it's pretty important that it be set up properly. At least I think that's what I gleaned from Dawna's boss that they need. It's a frustrating situation on both sides: The client needs something done but they don't know how to explain what it is they need exactly, and unless the person doing the work is on-staff, the person brought in to the job has no prior knowledge of how the office works, what and how they need the information, who needs access to what, and it's not possible to be familiar with all the hundreds of types of specialized software out there that a business might buy as a solution.

Actually, it's not even one type of software, there's 3 or 4 types that have to be integrated in order for this to function how it needs to be. I'll see if I can bone up on the info they gave me, but I made no promises and I don't charge people for things I can't help or fix. I know of someone that I can refer them to if need be which will most likely be the case seeing as how I've got to go to bed and get up early for a meeting with what should be my return to steady employment.

I've had another good day, I had a great session with my therapist since, really, things have been going well and improving. I'm experiencing some peace and happiness. Now I just need to keep up the momentum.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!