Get your own
     diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry This is called "Me before caffeine"

2004-09-18 - 10:35 p.m.

09-18-04 8:10 a.m.

I was having this dream that doesn't make much sense about traveling with a friend to visit Cyd. It was a long distance with a layover in an Asian country, (Japan? China?), even though we were flying from one U.S. city to another. Anyway, not long after our arrival and "good-to-see-yous" we went out to look around some shops where Cyd and I promptly got into an argument. We had some more heated words outside the shop and he stomped off to go home which was just down the street. The friend came outside and I started laughing because the police arrived at his place. Heh, maybe they were the "Big Baby" police.

I hate to say in some ways this has been very indicative of our friendship and I guess the reason why I had the dream was because Cyd and I had been pretty much best friends 13 or so years. We had a falling out about a year and a half ago. At the time I was living here in KY and he was in GA. A few months ago he moved back to Louisville with his wife and while that might be a 3 hour trip, it's not near the distance from doorstep-to-doorstep as it was.

I'm in fact reminded that had I not completely fallen on my face after I moved and relapsed horribly last year, that I probably still would have been living in Louisville when they moved back.

Something about getting older, (note I did not say "more mature"), makes every everything so much more complicated than it has to be. Sometimes I think the system or ritual we've established isn't prep. for the "real world" to survive and succeed as much as it is some sadists wish to indoctrinate us into structure and then fling us into chaos like they were either forced to, or as a lesson that has to be more subtle for us to grasp. Maybe that's God, maybe that's what the story of Jesus Christ is. Look at freedom, look at war, look at the thin little line like the center of a highway that we must try to tread when to the left and to the right is such an easier, wider area to tread. A person must be taught and be prepared for adulthood, what about godness?

Well hell, I only wanted to talk about some stupid dream and suddenly I'm pondering the perfecting of the soul towards enlightenment.

*Sigh* why couldn't I have just had a dream about a girl or something?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!