Get your own
     diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry Why yes, yes it is..

2004-09-02 - 1:27 a.m.

09-01-04 11:50 p.m.

My first day back at the j-o-b was a strange start of sorts. They are not particularly organized which is not a good thing considering the turnover rate there. You see, for some reason, car salesmen, finance officers, office staff, and even management personel move back and forth between dealerships. I only vaguely know why. Sometimes the other dealership offers more money, maybe a salesman thinks Toyotas seem to be popular and moves over in hopes of better sales or commisions, etc. Like I say, I'm not sure why. When those type of people leave, they have to be replace a.s.a.p., but this is not so with the type of job they hired me to do. They might let 4 or 6 months lapse and in that time, anybody that knew anything about the network, or, say, passwords to logon, is gone and wouldn't you just know they didn't bother with leaving any notes.

I was there for about two hours filling out the paperwork, talking to my new boss, catching up with a few of the people that I did know that were still there or had come back, but when I went to get my work area and the computer with all the database information and website files, etc. up and going, I couldn't get into the system. Noone knew the password, or where I could find the restore disks to try and repair the installation to perhaps reset the pass or just anything. I've already heard this a couple of times from office and management people today: "Dude, I don't know anything about computers, so just don't even ask. I'm not trying to be rude, I just don't know".

So I just told my boss I was gonna have to take the computer home where I had the equipment to do a little trick to get around passwords and back up the data. My 1st day back and I'm already getting to do some work from home. And I did this while watching a movie of course. I told my friend Bryan about it and he just said "Mmn, cakewalk".

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!