Get your own
     diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry Computer fanatix

2004-08-14 - 12:48 a.m.

081304 10:17 a.m. Once again I stayed up way too late but still got up at the set alarm time. I want to break myself out of this cycle. Me and my big mouth for some reason offered to do the grocery shopping and Ma's taking me up on that offer. So as I'm sitting here sipping my soda and smoking, the anxiety of this chore is collecting in the back of my throat just out of reach of where a cough might clear it. After that I'll be going to Action to load the internet security disks and perhaps walk Ma through updating the listings and featured property? I des- perately need to do some laundry, and I need to investigate what's happening with the upstairs bog. It hasn't been flushing properly. Then tonight I suppose I'll go to an A.A. meeting. Sounds like an exciting day, does it not? I'm ready for it to be over with already. I don't get this battery business on the laptop. It was shut down and charging for 5 hours, yet when I brought it up it was only 95% charged. It's dropped 5% just in the 20 minutes I've been using it. All I've done so far is check my email and start this notepad document. Go figure.. *************************************************************************** Someone found their way to my D-land journal by doing a Yahoo search posing the question: "Why the two beckys on Roseanne?" Amazing. Can just imagine how many people out there are finding all these strange blogs or forums, etc. (even if I can't think of some etcs right now), just doing an innocent search? Take me for an example. I did a search the other day wondering who would win in a fight: The titmouse or the naked molerat and you would not BELIEVE the results that turned up.. sheesh.. Loading the internet security on the comps. at Action turned out to be a challenge. For some damn reason every one of them fought me in some way. I had 'em working so smooth when I was there. Oh well, it just means more money since I'll have to return tomorrow to finish up the job. I had to bring one home that has been consistently giving them problems and you just know it had to be the one with the most important records and data. I think it might have gotten a good power surge zap a couple of weeks ago when we had one of our bad storms. I've seen this sort of thing happen at least 3 times in the last couple of years at places I've worked. Lightning must have a crush on me. Surge protectors don't do shit when it comes to thunderstorms. They only handle mild spikes. You can shell out what you want for a big honking name brand electric strip and it won't do any good against the kind and power of current a lightning bolt will generate. The best you can hope for is that when the surge comes thru it trips a fuse in your power supply to help avert total meltdown. As it stands this comp. that I'm working on will have to have a new case fan, hard drive, and power supply and hopefully that will be the extent of it. After that, they'll be better off considering it totalled because there's the cost of the parts plus the cost to pay me to do the work and for that amount, you can find an inexpensive no frills tower. Oh I've wasted my life..

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!