Get your own
     diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry Write it on a post card: Dad they broke me, dad they broke me..

2003-01-19 - 10:25 p.m.

Just got back in town a short while ago. I decided to take off for Louisville to go apartment hunting this weekend because I simply can't stand to be here a moment longer. I looked at a few places, and one was alright, so I put in an application for it. I would say it's a "crackerbox" but I think that might even be exagerating it's size. A circus midget might find it cozy, but hey, it was cheap and in a cool area close to the hip stores and public trans. WTF I thought. Either way it goes, in 2 or so weeks, I'm blowing this burg. I only basically need a bathroom and a floor area, I swear. I'll just sleep in a heap on the floor with my doodle pads and pens and maybe a nifty ashtray. A nifty ashtray can SO make or break a place, don't you think?

Another thing I like about the idea is just bringing only things that matter, that I have a purpose or use for. Not all the usual pack-rat garbage and excess stuff that you can't seem to part with but only really takes up space. Screw the sentimental stuff, I don't have the heart for memories anymore anyway. If I looked and thought too much about it all, I wouldn't be able to get up in the morning. I was in a relationship for two years once, and a mess for three years after. This last one was over five years, I can't really afford to think how long it might take to get over that one. It's already been a year and it still hurts. And not just a little either, more like a heavy, iron truncheon if I may be so dramatic. I only recently could even look at a picture of her.

When you go through something like that, it takes a while to seperate yourself, to extract or rebuild your identity. Maybe that's why I don't want all the gear: Too much baggage tied to someone and something else. I've never met a person like her before or since, never cared for anyone the way I did for her, and was certainly never as close to anyone as I was with her. And it only gets harder as you go when you've shared that much of yourself to ever want to go through that again. Learning the quirks, personalities, histories, meeting the families and friends, the whole process can be quite an investment.

Anyway, time to park the heart in the fridge, the brain in the oven, and the ass on the couch..

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!