Get your own
     diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry My brain thinks bomblike

2002-08-26 - 2:24 p.m.

There was a thunderstorm this morning. At 10:00 a.m. it looked outside more like 10 p.m. A huge shock of lightening came down across the street and our building got a power surge that fried a couple of computers and some of our network. My computer was somehow spared. I find that funny since I�m the least important part of this business! It�s finally stopped raining though now, and is clearing up, but what a way to start your Monday.

I�ve been in this relaxed state that borders on lethargy for a while now. What I want to say is, I had an all right weekend, just didn�t do too much or move too fast. I visited a friend on Friday who had just finished his first week of work at his new job at an automobile factory. He has the very monotonous, (as most factory jobs are), of checking parts for quality control. I don�t know what�s worse: being unemployed and worrying about getting employed, or when you start a job and realize that you�re returning back to hell. And, it�s especially hard when it�s been a few months as it had for him. I know when I went a while unemployed; it sort of rattles your confidence. I�ve probably been unemployed for a total of a year or so in the past 3 or so years due to the alcohol primarily, plus whatever I was using it to medicate myself for obviously. Anyway, I�m sure it will get easier for him after he�s been there a while longer. It just stinks here as far as job options here if you don�t want to work fast food. He told me he got a call back on a resume he dropped off at Wal-mart, they offered him part time at $6/hour to round up shopping carts. Previously he had been a supervisor at a concrete place and then before that I think he was a corporal in the Army. Anyway, whatever it is, he was in charge of supervising other men. Needless to say, he didn�t take the job. It was quite a laughable insult, or at least it should be but when you have a wife and a baby, house payments and car payments, you sometimes have to take what you can get. I should know, I work at a car dealership and I don�t even own a car, and don�t want to really.

Saturday I slept in and then went to visit my friend Chris at his guitar shop and his fianc�s parents were there visiting from Louisville. Chris and Leila are getting �hitched� on the 7th of September making almost all my friends except for two I think married. Yehp, it�s just me and my what?!? Nine married couple friends?!? Anyway, Leila�s folks left in the early afternoon to get back and we went downtown to this classic car show they have here every 3rd Thursday of the month. I went down to show �dad support� because my father just recently got himself a �66 Mustang and was going to park it down there for people to ogle. It was scorching hot though, so we didn�t stay too long. Later, me and my soon-to-be-married friends went to the drive-in. We took my parents car since they have one of those enormous battleship old model vans, and because I�m such a swell fellow, I sat in the back so they could sit next to each other up front. In other words, I didn�t get any action from either of them. Selfish, frigid, monogamous curs!

We saw �Goldmember� and �Signs�. Err, I guess there were a couple of good lowbrow jokes in Goldmember, I don�t know. I got too fixated and annoyed by just how obvious the product placement ads were spread about the picture. You know how there�s move tie-in merchandise, fast food toys of characters, cups with something about the movie on them. But there were obvious plants in the picture promoting soft drinks and fast food in some of the shots in the film, and then there was Brittany Spears and the Osbournes thrown in. And then �Signs�, well, let�s just say we started improvising our own dialogue. I have to applaud Mel Gibson; he exuded the appearance of an extremely constipated man. And Joaquin Phoenix who was supposed to be his brother, well, the relationship seemed to me to be played out more like they were �companions�. Anyone that enjoys an insipid flick because you and your pals can generously ad-lib lines might like this film.

Sunday was peaceful. I lounged about and downloaded music and did some doodling. It was just a very calm, reflective day, which, I think, is the perfect way to move out of your weekend. The only thing is, I think I�m still in that mode because I�m not doing much work today. But hey! Who can do work at time like this?!? Maybe my computer is fried after all?!?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!