Get your own
     diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry what do I look like, a mechanic?

2002-05-17 - 1:07 p.m.

All right. I'm very much irritable and dragging through this day, so what else is new about that I suppose. I don't know why, but I haven't managed a good nights rest since Saturday night. I just barely function on five hours a night Yuck.

Anyway, yesterday was going o.k. until I got off work. My mother met me outside and we had to go to the hospital because little did I know my Uncle had had either some extreme anxiety/panic attack or a mild heart attack. My parents and I spent the next several hours at the hospital and even though he seems to be alright, they still kept him for observation overnight.

I really feel for him and worry. He's 63 and his health in the past several years has been declining a bit faster than I suppose he or anyone might expect. That's the twist and turns of fate though. I guess it's good that he relocated back to KY. to be closer to the family since he had been living in Australia for what, the last 20 or 30 years? I'm not sure.

He's also a veteran which we only seem to have a small annex for them here that has only been open since 2000, so if anything major comes up he has to travel to a larger city which can take an hour and a half or three and a half if he has to go to Louisville. This seems so ridiculous to me considering the reasons why you would need those services is because you're having health issues and that's not a very convienent distance to travel if you're ailing.

I don't know what I'm going to do about him or my parents frankly. With the way things are for me now, I have to be aware of stress levels because things like that can be triggers, but they all seem to load themselves down with everything and it's a pace that even at my age I wouldn't want to keep up. Especially my uncle. The problem with the way our society is towards work and retirement is incredibly sad. You work until you're basically too used up to enjoy life as much due to health problems, etc. but then also there's the conditioning element of being used to working so when a person does finally retire, they become bored. You've spent so much of your existence and energy for someone or something else, that you don't know how to occupy yourself, so if you're my uncle, you go get involved in property ownership and a half a dozen other things that finally cause your body to bring it to your attention that "Hey, this is too much shit man, slow down", and BOOM! you drop. I mean, the mind and body are powerful things when they fall into alignment like that. Your identity or ego, your consciousness, plays as if it's unaware, but when the body sends a signal like that, it's kind of hard to ignore.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!